Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arena tips thread

Default Arena tips thread

I just started playing Hearthstone about a week ago so late to the party! I LOVE the arena and drafting. It was my favorite part of MTG and so of course it is my favorite part of Hearthstone. I figured we could have a thread with good tips and links to info that will help us all become better at this! I am averaging around 4 wins per draft now (close to 100 wins in arena already) so I would say some of this stuff for sure helps. I am sure Luke has some insight as well!

The best advice I can give is to draft for mana curve after the first 10 or 15 card picks.

This is a mid range man curve which gives you the best chance to always be casting something throughout the game.
    4-6 Two mana costing minions
    4-5 Three mana costing minions
    5-6 Four mana costing minions
    4-5 'heavy hitters'
    8-10 non-minion cards and conditional minion cards

If you have happen to draft a faster curve, you want to try and have more card draw ability. Look to have 4 or 5 cards that AT LEAST replace themselves so your hand stays full. Playing 2 cards a turn from turn 5 on means you will be out of cards and top decking by turn 8. That means there is a good chance you lose board control because you have far less options.

Regardless of the special abilities of the minions, aim for cards that have higher stats. It helps a TON when trading in your favor with the opponents minions.

Depending on class, you want to always take the bigger cast cost minions first if you have a choice between 2-3 high quality cards on the same pick. There are a lot more vanilla but decent stat 2 and 3 mana minions than there are 5-7 mana drop minions.